Gerontology Program Faculty Associates

*Available to serve as a Program of Study (POS) Representative

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences / College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Ecology, Evolution, and Organismal Biology
Anne Bronikowski Ecology, Evolution, and Organismal Biology
515-294-7170 | abroniko@iastate.edu
Fredric Janzen Ecology, Evolution, and Organismal Biology
515-294-4230 | fjanzen@iastate.edu
Economics
Sandra Charvat Burke Economics
515-294-9307 | scburke@iastate.edu
Research interests: demography of aging, research methods, census and social indicators data
Michael Duffy Economics
515-294-6160 | mduffy@iastate.edu
Helen H. Jensen Economics
515-294-6253 | hhjensen@iastate.edu
Research interests: economic behaviors, food program design and evaluation, food insecurity, food safety
Additional info
Sociology
Anastasia Prokos Sociology
515-294-0515 | aprokos@iastate.edu
Research interests: grandparents, life course, women, inequality
Additional info

College of Business

Management
*Paula Morrow Management
515-294-810 | pmorrow@iastate.edu

College of Design

Architecture
Karen Bermann Architecture
515-294-8913 | kbermann@iastate.edu
Mark Engelbrecht Architecture
515-294-3560 | mengelbr@iastate.edu
*Jamie Horwitz Architecture
515-294-3543 | jhorwitz@iastate.edu
*Arvid Osterberg Architecture
515-294-8221 | arvido@iastate.edu
Research interests: accessibility standards and inclusive design, standards and codes related to building and site safety issues, designing for the life span, building assessments and post occupancy evaluations, restoration and rehabilitation methods and procedures
Graphic Design
Sunghyun R. Kang Graphic Design
515-294-1669 | shrkang@iastate.edu
Research interests: visual communication, design and evaluation, design for diverse users, usability, web design
Additional info
Interior Design
Lisa M. Bates Interior Design
515-294-7606 | lmbates@iastate.edu
Research interests: retail design, economic development, ethnic retailers, engaged scholarship, interdisciplinary

College of Engineering

Electrical and Computer Engineering
Yong Guan Electrical and Computer Engineering
515-294-8378 | guan@iastate.edu
Research interests: information security and privacy, digital forensics, human-centric computation, wearable sensor-based fusion for implementable medical device
Additional info
Mechanical Engineering
Abhijit Chandra Mechanical Engineering
515-294-4834 | chandra@iastate.edu
Research interests: manufacturing, computational mechanics, data science, life expectancy prediction

College of Human Sciences

Apparel, Events, and Hospitality Management
*Mary Lynn Damhorst Apparel, Events, and Hospitality Management
515-294-9919 | mldmhrst@iastate.edu
Research interests: appearance as social discourse, consumer behavior toward dress, body image throughout the lifespan, consumer responses to media representations, older consumer body image and dress
Additional info
*Young-A Lee Apparel, Events, and Hospitality Management
515-294-7826 | ylee@iastate.edu
Research interests: innovative product design and development, smart/wearable apparel for aging or special population, sustainable design practices, functional and protective clothing for special population, consumer perception and attitude toward the use of innovative technology
Additional info
Human Development and Family Studies
Megan Gilligan Human Development and Family Studies
515-294-5074 | mgilliga@iastate.edu
Research interests: intergenerational relationships, parent-adult child relations, later-life families
Additional info
Clinton Gudmunson Human Development and Family Studies
515-294-8439 | cgudmuns@iastate.edu
Research interests: economic pressure, family relationships, financial counseling, financial socialization, life course
Additional info
*Cynthia Needles Fletcher Human Development and Family Studies
515-294-8521 | cynthia@iastate.edu
Gong-Soog Hong Human Development and Family Studies
515-294-6120 | shong@iastate.edu
Research interests: financial security in later life, care giving, long term care, health care use
Tera R. Jordan Human Development and Family Studies
515-294-9804 | trh@iastate.edu
Research interests: marriage and intimate relationships, Type-2 diabetes prevention and management, black families, qualitative methods, mixed methods
Additional info
Amelia Karraker Human Development and Family Studies
515-294-7392 | karraker@iastate.edu
Research interests: health, socioeconomic status, inequality, gender, policy
*Jennifer Margrett Human Development and Family Studies
515-294-3028 | margrett@iastate.edu
Research interests: cognition, problem solving, everyday functioning, optimal aging, social context
Additional info
*Peter Martin Human Development and Family Studies
515-294-5186 | pxmartin@iastate.edu
*Daniel Russell Human Development and Family Studies
515-294-4187 | drussell@iastate.edu
Debra M. Sellers Human Development and Family Studies
515-294-2312 | dsellers@iastate.edu
Research interests: adaptive aging, caregiver, functional abilities, informal education, human-animal bond
Additional info
Kinesiology
*Dean Anderson Kinesiology
515-294-3427 | deanf@iastate.edu
*Warren Franke Kinesiology
515-294-8257 | wfranke@iastate.edu
*Jason Gillette Kinesiology
515-294-8310 | gillette@iastate.edu
Research interests: biomechanics, biomedical engineering, injury biomechanics, musculoskeletal models
Additional info
Douglas King Kinesiology
515-294-8429 | dsking@iastate.edu
*Marian Kohut Kinesiology
515-294-8364 | mkohut@iastate.edu
Philip Martin Kinesiology
515-294-8009 | pemartin@iastate.edu
Research interests: biomechanics, biomedical engineering, injury biomechanics, musculoskeletal models
Additional info
Rick Sharp Kinesiology
515-294-8650 | rlsharp@iastate.edu
Research interests: biomechanics, biomedical engineering, injury biomechanics, musculoskeletal models
Additional info
*Ann Smiley-Oyen Kinesiology
515-294-8261 | asmiley@iastate.edu
Elizabeth Stegemöller Kinesiology
515-294-5966 | esteg@iastate.edu
Research interests: neurophysiology, Parkinson’s Disease, music, motor control, repetitive movement
Additional info

College of Human Sciences / College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Food Science and Human Nutrition
Sarah L. Francis Food Science and Human Nutrition
515-294-1456 | slfranci@iastate.edu
Research interests: nutrition education, chronic disease prevention, older adults, limited resource audiences
Additional info
Auriel A. Willette Food Science and Human Nutrition
515-294-3110 | awillett@iastate.edu
Research interests: neuroscience, neuroimaging, glucose metabolism, immunology, biomarkers

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Computer Science
Carl K. Chang Computer Science
515-294-9393 | chang@iastate.edu
Research interests: software engineering, smart and connected health, gerontechnology, human-computer interaction, aware computing
Additional info
Simanta Mitra Computer Science
515-294-3463 | smitra@iastate.edu
Research interests: software engineering, design tools, design analysis
Johnny Wong Computer Science
515-294-2586 | wong@iastate.edu
Mathematics
Jennifer Davidson Mathematics
515-294-0302, davidson@iastate.edu
Political Science
*Mack Clayton Shelley, II Political Science
515-294-1075 | mshelley@iastate.edu
Research interests: public policy, aging and disability, statistical analysis, research methods, evaluation
Additional info
Psychology
Jason Chan Psychology
515-294-6946 | ckchan@iastate.edu
Research interests: human memory, cognitive science, eyewitness memory, education
Additional info
Carolyn Cutrona Psychology
515-294-9400 | ccutrona@iastate.edu
*Kathy Hanisch Psychology
515-294-1488 | kathann@iastate.edu
Frederick Lorenz (joint appointment with Statistics) Psychology
515-294-8196 | folorenz@iastate.edu

College of Veterinary Medicine

Biomedical Sciences
Anumantha Kanthasamy Biomedical Sciences
515-294-2516 | akanthas@cvm.iastate.edu